University, Pt. 3

To think it’s only week three, yet the way I’m burning the midnight oil and how close the due date is for assessments you would think it’s week eight or something. Each night is a 2:30-am finish minimum, anything earlier and guilt and anxiety end up keeping me awake watching infomercials or re-runs of “Two and half men”, which is fine by me because my brain is so worn out the jokes are actually funny.

Getting out of bed is like rising from a 17th century grave, though I still seem to make it to UNI on time its about three hours before my brain catches up after me, I can almost pinpoint the moment – where all of a sudden it’s as though some one has turned the light on in a dank dark room full of mould. But its like fluorescent lighting that flickers for a bit and your eyes strain in order to adjust.

Last night I fell asleep at the desk, I was having “one of those nights”, where I couldn’t concentrate, my mind was in utter disarray at where to start or where to continue. So I reasoned that I would read a novel that had been allocated to me in one of my classes, alas it wasn’t long before I waking up with paper and food stuck to my face.

That all being said and done, I wouldn’t change it for a second. The thought of some dead end menial job is usually enough to wave away any feelings of self pity or second thoughts, however arduous the journey through UNI may be.

The days that I spend with my daughter in between UNI and work are such a treat, and ease my mind greatly. So far we have gone out for lunch with a friend and went to a wildlife park which was great fun. Without being too cliché it is indeed true what they say, they grow up fast. One week she is walking, the next she is running and throwing a ball. We have also gone down to a local park and swung on the swings together. Our time together is such a breathe of fresh after the confines of lecture theatres, study rooms and shopping centres.

They remind you that your hard work is for them, for their future. Because you want the best for them so you in turn do your best to ensure it.

JS.

Leave a comment